downthetubes is undergoing some main site refurbishment...

Saturday, 7th October 2017

The downthetubes news blog was assimilated into our main site back in 2013, but we're glad you're here, because that's currently undergoing some under the bonnet refurb! So we've brought this blog back from the dead to tide us over.

We expect to be back up and running next week, just before the 2017 Lakes International Comic Art Festival - see you there?

Hop over to www.downthetubes.net for other British comics news, comic creating guides, interviews and much more!

Friday, 22 May 2009

Tony Lee Podcast on SciFiPulse

Today's podcast from Ian Cullen's cult web site SciFiPulse.net features an exclusive interview with comic writer Tony Lee, who talks about his career and his latest graphic novel, Bram Stoker’s Dracula: Harker, which is being published by Markosia. The book features art by Peter-Davis Douglas and Neil Antwerpen.

“Last year, I was speaking with [Markosia publisher] Harry Markos, a small press British company that I've been involved with since the very early days," he explains. "They were one of the companies that did Starship Troopers and took on [my book] Hope Falls. I've done other bits and pieces for them over the years, and we were discussing doing something different.

“We wanted to do a hardback graphic novel, we wanted to do a coffee table graphic novel and they wanted to do something really nice that would look good. They couldn't work out what to do. So I suggested to them while in a meeting, 'Why don't you do a sequel to Dracula?'

“Because, obviously, Dracula is a public domain book, which I happened to have a sequel to at the time that I was playing around with," he continues. Which was Harker, [featuring] the characters from Dracula six months on, and they loved the idea.”

• You can hear more about Harker as well as Tony Lee's various Doctor Who books make a date with the SciFi Pulse Podcast which airs live on Friday 22 May at 11.00pm UK Time, 3.00pm PST, 5.00pm CT and 6.00pm EST. Follow the links on www.scifipulse.net

No comments:

Latest News on downthetubes.net

Contact downthetubes

• Got a British Comics News Story? E-mail downthetubes!

• Publishers: please contact for information on where to post review copies and other materials: editor@downthetubes.net

Click here to subscribe to our RSS NewsFeed

Powered by  FeedBurner