downthetubes is undergoing some main site refurbishment...

Saturday, 7th October 2017

The downthetubes news blog was assimilated into our main site back in 2013, but we're glad you're here, because that's currently undergoing some under the bonnet refurb! So we've brought this blog back from the dead to tide us over.

We expect to be back up and running next week, just before the 2017 Lakes International Comic Art Festival - see you there?

Hop over to www.downthetubes.net for other British comics news, comic creating guides, interviews and much more!

Thursday, 18 March 2010

New Flash Gordon Collection

flash_gordon_cba01.jpg(Updated 1 April 2010): downthetubes has a bias towards comics of British origin but one American character of great interest to many British sci-fi/comic fans, Flash Gordon, is appearing in a new archival collection from Dark Horse, to be published in August.

The book will reprint seven complete comics originally published between 1947 and 1953 and is likely to appeal to fans of Dan Dare, Rick Random and those who like their sci-fi heroes retro.

While Dark Horse haven't specified the source, Flash Gordon fans online suggest the 312-page collection comprises comics originally published by Dell between 1947-49, drawn by Paul Norris in Four-Color #173, 190, 204 and 247; and from 1952-53:, three more from Four Color #424, #512 and Flash Gordon #2, featuring art by Jack Lehti and Frank Thorne.

Ardden Entertainment, a company with British connections, has the license to produce new range of Flash Gordon comics, and SciFiPulse.net reports the range has gone very well for them.

Another highly recommended Flash Gordon collection - Al Williamson's Flash Gordon: A Lifelong Vision of the Heroic was published last year, reprinting his Gold Key and Marvel Flash Gordon work.


Flash Gordon Comic Book Archives Volume 1 is available to pre-order from Forbidden Planet and other onlibne stores.

Flash Gordon Story Index


No comments:

Latest News on downthetubes.net

Contact downthetubes

• Got a British Comics News Story? E-mail downthetubes!

• Publishers: please contact for information on where to post review copies and other materials: editor@downthetubes.net

Click here to subscribe to our RSS NewsFeed

Powered by  FeedBurner